Denial of Medical Certifications

14 CFR part 67 prescribes the medical standards for holding a Class I, Class II, or Class III Medical Certificate. Any person who meets the medical standards are entitled to the appropriate medical certificate. The general medical standard applicable to all classes is that the airman shall not have any medical history or diagnosis of diabetes mellitus requiring insulin or other organic, functional, or structural defect based on qualified medical judgment that the Federal Air Surgeon finds the pilot is unable to safely perform the duties or exercise the privileges of class of certificate held. The Federal Air Surgeon’s judgment is powerful but it is not absolute. If you have been denied issuance, you may have the right to appeal to the NTSB if you feel that the denial was not according to the general medical standards.

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Contact Us

We can help find a solution. Use the form provided or call us directly to discuss your case.

  • Phone
    (855) 342-4326
  • Fax
    (619) 312-4612
  • Email

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.